Connect with us


Gov. Kelly met with Sedgwick County-area leaders to discuss the need for a state mental health hospital in the region



Topeka, KANSAS – According to the state officials, the meeting included a roundtable discussion and a tour of COMCARE Crisis Center.   

Since taking office, the Kelly Administration has continuously worked on bipartisan solutions to expand mental health access. Those initiatives include: 

  • Reforming 26 Community Mental Health Centers (CMHCs) to be Certified Community Behavioral Health Clinics (CCBHCs) with capabilities to treat mental health and substance abuse crises through integrated physical-behavioral care.  
  • Expanding the state’s capacity to provide mental health care to Kansans closer to home by bringing new youth facilities online, working to lift the moratorium at Osawatomie, and increasing the states’ workforce through the 24/7 pay plan. 
  • Investing in the Mental Health Intervention Teams Program. Governor Kelly has provided $33 million in funding for the program and has grown the program from 9 districts to 67 and from 1,708 students to close to 5,000 served annually. 
  • Added funding to address the competency evaluation and restoration process at Larned State Hospital and fund additional mobile competency and restoration services through community mental health centers. 
  • Launching the 9-8-8 Suicide Prevention and Mental Health Crisis Hotline, allowing any Kansans who may be experiencing a mental health emergency to dial 988 and receive professional support.  

While on a tour of COMCARE Crisis Center, she got a glimpse of services offered by Sedgwick County, including the 9-8-8 Hotline operations. 

Participants in today’s roundtable included Department of Aging and Disability Services Secretary Laura Howard; House Minority Leader Tom Sawyer; Sedgwick County Manager Tom Stolz; Wichita Mayor Brandon Whipple; Robyn Chadwick, President of Ascension Via Christi St. Joseph; Tim Kaufman, Assistant County Manager for Sedgwick County; Sedgwick County Sheriff Jeff Easter; Sedgwick County Commissioner David Dennis; Sedgwick County District Attorney Marc Bennett; and Wichita Police Department Captain Jason Cooley.